Selected Songs from Carmen Lundy’s Discography

  1. I Know Why The Caged Bird Sings Solamente 5:35
  2. Daybreak Soul to Soul 5:14
  3. Forgive Me Self Portrait 6:28
  4. Good Morning Kiss Good Morning Kiss 5:39
  5. Grace Soul to Soul 6:35
  6. So Beautiful Changes 4:52

  • As a performer, her range, instrumental chops and overall craft give her many choices. They come together in a silky cocktail of jazz singing.

  • Code Noir encompasses the artist’s love of jazz, blues, Brazilian samba, African rhythms, pop and other influences as she delivers timely and thought-provoking messages about perseverance, social issues and love.

  • Musicians as diversely gifted as Carmen Lundy, who has excelled as a vocalist, composer, lyricist, arranger, guitarist and keyboardist for more than three decades, remain far and few between. There was Ray Charles, and there is Joni Mitchell, but very few others. And Lundy, like Mitchell, is also a superb painter, often crafting the artwork for her album covers, including the multihued self-portrait that adorns Code Noir.
    Jazz Times

  • Lots to dig about Lundy’s unique approach. Unusual atmosphere to these topical, political and romantic songs, which are slickly produced, super shiny sounding, but also have tactility and frame her wonderful voice.

  • One of the most attractive aspects of Carmen Lundy’s career is that she has created her own tone, style and delivery.
    Jazz Weekly

  • Lundy’s ruggedly conversational lyrics and welcome social commentary inhabit territory Abbey Lincoln and Marvin Gaye both might recognize.

  • With Code Noir, songstress extraordinaire Carmen Lundy reveals herself as a gifted griotte, a female singer of praises, exploring the musical and emotional realms encompassing the African diaspora through the music of Black America.
    All About Jazz